1935 Buick Series 40 Clutch Replacement

AussieTim

Hello All,

My 1935 Buick needs a clutch replacement. 

It seems I have two options to get to the clutch:

1.  Remove the torque tube and rear axle assembly, then the transmission, or

2. Remove the engine.

Option 2 seems more straightforward and less problematic.

Do any of you have experience or advice on this ?

Thanks so much.

Tim

Removing the torque tube and axle assembly is relatively easy.  Some years you do not have to remove it, just move it back so you can remove the transmission.

The time the shop changed the clutch on my Buick the flat rate was 8 hours and they did it in 3.  The first time I did it it took me 4 hours and the second and last time it took me 3 1/2.  I quit street dragging then and had no more trouble.

50jetback and Tinindian - Thank you both for your replies.  Sounds as though removing the rear end isn't as scary as it seems.  This is my first time with a torque tube driveline so it is a learning experience and I want to do the job myself.

50jetback - I am in the Sydney area.  It looks as though you are in WA ?

Regards, Tim

Hi Tim,

Welcome to the forum. Are you a member of the Buick Club of NSW?

The Club has its monthly meetings in the Concord Area, third Thursday of the month

Be nice to meet another pre-war Buick owner!

Might I also suggest that you subscribe to the Australian pre-war Buick E-magazine. Simply go to the Buick Club of Queensland website and subscribe for free

Cheers

Paul White

Secretary - Buick Club of NSW

Edited by Paul White
extra information (see edit history)

• 6 months later...

Hello Gents,