Information wanted for a vintage Chevy hood ornament 1950"s??

Guest DSTEVENS

Guest DSTEVENS

I have a vintage Cheverolet hood ornament that is in excellent condition and still in the box. I would love some information on this and a possible value or where the best place is to sell this. 

post-154707-0-03618700-1441904425_thumb.

I'm no expert, but I think that is an aftermarket hood ornament for a 1950 Chevrolet.  I think that the stock hood ornament was solid metal and did not have the plastic insert.  I would guess that it would be worth $40 - $50 bucks ... possibly more if someone really needs one.  As to places to sell it, I'd list it on the 'Buy/Sell' forum of this site.  Of course, there is the "ever popular" :rolleyes:  Ebay.

I'm sure that folks more knowledgeable than myself will offer some opinions on this site.

Just my thoughts,

Grog

I think there is some confusion the hood ornament with the red plastic insert and it was a Chevrolet Accessory sold by Chevrolet for 1949/50 part number 3687425 The standard hood ornament is listed in the Chevrolet Parts Book as "regular production" that is all chrome plated steel part number 3684376. I had seen them for sale as high as $250 (high end) to as low as $40 again like anything else condition depends on a lot 

I don't know why but my, books show different part numbers. 

The red plastic hood ornament is the factory accessory hood ornament for 1949 only. it is group 8.055  part number 986254

1949 and 1950 shared the same production hood ornament #3688253  cost new $4.07

The accessory hood ornament for 1950  is a winged bird group 8.055 part number 986410 

John, if you have the cost new  for the accessory ornaments, I could fill in a couple of blanks in my Chevrolet hood ornament collection.

Guest AlCapone