63 BUICK RIVIERA 3:23 open to a posi...

Guest RiVRAT 63

Guest RiVRAT 63

hey guys!

so im new to this whole forum thing but i have been told they can be really help full.

im a 18 year old kid in the process of build a custom 63 buick riviera iv been kind of learning as a go with some things but for the most part iv been doing good. i am looking to upgrade the rear end from the 3:23 open to something that is posi? im not sure what to do. swap the rear end, change the gears..... i dont wanna do something that will bite me in the ass later down the road. any ideas will help

thanks dante

Your riv has a unique rear end with a 9 3/8 inch ring gear. Just finding original parts for it can be a challenge! Finding a posi is possible but it must come from a 63, 64, or. 65 Riviera. Expensive, heavy and the best upgrade is to a 3.42.... Not exactly a big % gain. Personally, my 65 has 3.23 open rear in it and it is my favorite balance between giddy up and highway compatibility. Keep your eyes peeled for a 3.42 but rest assured your 3.23's will serve you well.

As you'll read if past and future threads, these posi units are made of 'unobtainium.' Very expensive when and if you ever find one.

In your post you don't elaborate on what you intend to do with your car - keep it stock, personalize it, or go with an all out custom of some sort. If you're going to go all out, one possiblility would be to swap in a complete 9" Ford rear end. Some of the pick-up units are 59" wide, just like your Riivera. Posi units, lockers, different gear ratios, axles, etc. are easlily found for these. You'd need to fabricate all of the brackets for hanging it and modify your driveshaft for a differen U-joint at the back.

Ted and Ed speak the truth.

Take my advice, leave it like it is. There are many other things to better spend you money on than this.