Jaguar XKE Series I or II

Anyone on this forum familliar with these? I am primarilly interested in a series I or II, 4 speed car, OTS or coupe, preferably in driver condition - older restoration or nice original, would like to avoid a project unless it is a really good start.

Interested in learning what to look for besides obvious electricals and rust issues, and would be interested in any leads particularly in the Northeast.

Am I wrong to dismiss the series III? So far I am hearing stay away.

Thanks,

Steve,

I will dive in her in the hope that others with better information will respoind.

I have had some second hand experience with the XKE. The biggest issue is structural rust, it is very prevalent problem and repair requires a total strip down to the basic body. Internal painting was inadequate originally so they rust through from the inside out in the structural parts.

The other common problem is accident damage made worse by the nature of the car and the way they were often driven. The XKE has a monocoque body with a separate removable front subframe for the engine and large opening hood. The subframe will sometimes have been damaged and require replacement. Reproductions are available.

Finding one that has not suffered any of this will be particularly difficult and even if sound, the rust issue is always there due to the original lack of internal surface protection.

Best bet would be one that has all of these issue repaired properly but being sure that it has been done is the hard part.

I have always aspired to own one but due to these issues and other projects it has not happened.

Beautiful cars.

David