1942 dodge coupe (d-22)

Guest hiyudon

Guest hiyudon

Hello All,

I have an embarrassing question to ask. I just bought a 42 dodge three window coupe earlier this month. I discovered after the second time driving it that I don't have a brake light.

What is supposed to be the brake light is wired into the headlight and tail light circuit. Looking at my service manual it looks like there isn't one. I find this hard to believe.

Upon further review, I cannot find the brake stop switch. I looked an the master cyllinder and on the brake pedal area. I have not lifted the car on stands yet as I have not had the time.

Anyone know where to stop switch is?

Thank you in advance

Don

Guest hiyudon

Thank you Keiser. That's what I thought, but there is no switch either on the brake pedal or on the end of the master cylinder from what I can see. That's what makes this so strange. According to the service manual I have, it doesn't show in the print. There's not even a stop light on the drawing...

As it is now, my brake light is wired into the tail light circuit..

Oh wll, will have to do some searching. The car was restored to a very nice degree, that's what makes this strange.

Thanks again,

Don

Guest De Soto Frank

Look for a pressure switch in the brakelines on the frame rail, just in front of the driver's side front body mount ( open "leg" that comes down from the cowl ).

As they came form the factory, the center light on the deck lid was the ONLY brake light. :eek:

The lights on the rear fenders were for tailight-only, or tail-light and turn-signal if the car was equipped with factory turnsignals.

Some MoPars of this vintage had the rear lighting re-wired and re-lamped with stop-lights in the original fender lights, others had aftermarket lights kludged-onto the rear of the car.

If your D-22 has a headlight switch with one 30-amp SFE fuse on it, then all vehicle lighting gets its power through this fuse.