pitman shaft seal

rons49

Can any one tell me if the pitman shaft seal(or packing) on a Cadillac(1950) can be removed without pulling the shaft itself? Maybe with a dental pick or similar, that won't scratch the bushing or shaft ? I have a bit of gear oil leaking as I drive the car.

Can any one tell me if the pitman shaft seal(or packing) on a Cadillac(1950) can be removed without pulling the shaft itself? Maybe with a dental pick or similar, that won't scratch the bushing or shaft ? I have a bit of gear oil leaking as I drive the car.

While I'm no expert on that particular steering box, in general the pitman shaft seal in GM boxes can be replaced without disassembling the box. The service manual usually shows a special Kent Moore tool, but the shadetree way is to drill three or four small holes in the metal part of the shield. Use wheel bearing grease while drilling to catch any chips. Screw a sheet metal screw into each hole and use the screws to extract the seal. Clean, inspect the shaft, and install the new seal using a length of pipe. One trick is to wrap the shaft with a piece of shim stock and force it past the old seal before working on it to protect the shaft.

That's the question, according to my parts book Cadillac did not use a seal until 1953. The book calls for packing. If I use my puller and remove the pitman arm and to my surprise find a seal I could be in for it trying to match a deformed seal. Joe I like your idea, but I hope for packing.

If it is a conventional seal there are special pry tools for pulling them out. Not expensive.

The commercially available pry tools require the pitman shaft to be removed, which is what the OP did not want to do. As I said, GM manuals show special Kent Moore tools that look like inside gear pullers and allow seal removal with the shaft in place, but unless you get lucky on ebay, the term "not expensive" does not apply.