1957 Seville

g-g-g0

I am new to the Cadillac world as I have been associated with the Buick Club of America for a number of years and have Buicks in my stable. Recently I found a '57 Seville project car that I bought unseen other than pictures. It was delivered yesterday and today I was able to spend some time looking it over (Very well represented by the seller and no huge surprises). My first question is where is the vin tag/ID number located? I have been unable to locate it so far. In addition from my research to date it appears that 2100 of these beauties were built. Were they all dual quad carb set ups or was that an option. I am sure there will be other questions going forward but would appreciate any information as related to these particular questions.

Thanks,

Gary

Guest South_paw

Gary,

Congrats! The '57 Seville is a beautiful car. Yes dual quads was an option on Eldorados. The serial number of the car is located on the chassis rail and it is also on the engine. You may also find the oil change tag in the drivers door jam if it is there. Here's a page from the 56 manual. The locations are the same.

Picture5.jpg

Lou:

Thank you for your quick response and help. I did find the lubrication plate but do not think that will satisfy the sheriffs department when they come to do a vin check. I will have to find the one on the frame rail but now know where to look.

Is there any data as to how many of the cars were equipped with the dual quad option. Was it a factory install or a dealer install.

Really appreciate your assistance.

Gary

South Bend, IN

Guest South_paw