33 Buick Generator Problem

pint4

I have a 1933 Buick and decided to add an electric fuel pump. The problem is I don't have enough output from my generator when the pump is on and the lights are on at night. My battery is slowly discharging. I am told I can adust the output on the generator but I am a novice and would need some very detailed instructions as to how to do it. A few pictures would help also. Can anyone assist me with what I need to do? I spent $107 on the electric fuel pump and would like to avoid buying another if I can increase the output with my current generator. The car runs great.

Thanks,

Bob

I agree with Mark. Use the electric fuel pump at startup after the car has not been run for several weeks. It will fill the fuel system without having to crank the engine. shut the electric fuel pump off once the car is running and let the mechanical pump do its job.

Increasing the generator output will overcharge the battey, a serious problem. The adjustment does not increase amperage, but does increase the voltage output. Higher candlepower than spec headlight bulbs and or tripp lights will put a drain on the batter also. Using a higher amperage, deep cycle battery can increase your night driving time as you run off the battery.

Bob

Guest Silverghost

As others have stated above~

There is no real fix to this problem.

The generator Amperage output is the real issue; not voltage.

Your old stock generator has it's limits .

Raising the voltage will give you no more amperage output ; and will shorten your lamp bulb's life !

An electric fuel Pump is only a Band-Aid fix approach !