rear wheel removal

Guest ozziedodge25

Guest ozziedodge25

G'day guys ,

new to the forum ,I have a 25 dodge tourer with wood spoke wheels that are refusing to come off the axles .

Any suggestions ?

I had the same problem as you with my '29. I think back in the day there was something called a wheel puller which you would thread onto the axle, tighten and the wheel would pop off (don't know why). I didn't have a tool like that; I put a rag on the end of the axle, then a pice of wood and tapped at it with a hammer; the wheel then came off. I'm sure on this board there are others with better methods as I'm no real mechanic.

With the proper hub puller it will come off. Sometimes it comes off with a "bang", so do not stand in front of it when you pull it off. I have seen them fly across the garage. I have also seen them go "pop" and just fall off. Some guys have tried it a different way where they loosen the axle nut slightly and go for a drive around the block and it loosens. That method scares me a little for fear of damaging the axle or some other parts.

Dana, I'm not sure that will help. At least bolted to the car you won't have to chase it around the floor. Does you puller thread on where the hubcap goes and pushes against the axle? That's how it should work. Are you sure the brakes are not binding the drum? Put it back on, tension the puller tight, and give the end a wack with a good sized hammer. My keys were shot when I pulled mine apart. Don't use the junk hardware store keystock, it is too soft. Get a good piece of cold rolled steel from a machine shop.