1937 Century -- Slantback versus Humpback Sedans

scott12180

Hi all,

I've been researching the Century for 1937 and have an idea that I wonder if someone really sharp could support or refute.

The Century is generally thought to use the 126-inch wheelbase while the Special used the 122-inch wheelbase. Might it be possible that the Slantback Sedans for 1937 (at least) used the 122 inch wheelbase whereas the Humpback Sedans used the slightly longer 126-inch wheelbase?

What do you think? Anyone have a 1937 Slantback Century (a confirmed Century) who could measure their wheelbase???

Thanks very much --- Scott

There's no way that a Century would use anything other than the 126" chassis, regardless of the body installed on it. When I was looking for my Century, I found a lot of sedanettes where the owners didn't know exactly what they had--one even tried to convince me that his was a "Century Special". If it's 122 inches, I guarantee it's a Special. If it's 126, it's a Century.

The extra wheelbase length is entirely in front of the firewall to accommodate the longer engine. The Century and Special bodies are otherwise identical. On the '41s at least, they're completely interchangeable. In fact, the doors on my Century have two sets of mounting holes for the slightly different angles of the stainless side trim due to the different lengths of the hoods.

I don't know if both the slant back and humpback sedan bodies were offered on the Century chassis, though.

Hope this helps.

Scott,

The 1937 Buick slantback body (called Streamline by Buick) has the same overall length as the humpback (aka trunkback) body. This can be confirmed with a close examination of the side views of the two body types.

All of the Centurys have the same wheelbase as the Roadmaster, since both use the long 320 cubic inch engine.

Grandpa

post-52807-143138008001_thumb.jpg

post-52807-143138008004_thumb.jpg

Guest DaveCorbin

Dear Grandpa: