abs sensors

tony1970

Easiest way to test is to do a visual by getting the car in the air and looking at the sensor leads being frayed or cracked. Then take an ohm meter and check the resistance of the lead at the plug under the hood. The connection disconnects by squeezing the plug on the flats and pulling apart. The connections are at the strut towers.

Dave I have done this all ready front sensors look good I am getting an ohm reading of 1134, rears check out also the computer is brand new delco 1649945 so I know it is not the computer,the problem is I am missing signals,any thoughts ,thanks tony.

Dave is the expert on the sensors so he may correct me on this. I have limited experience working on the ABS.

1. Don't count on the ABS code to tell you specifically what part is causing the problem. 2. You must drive over 18 MPH for the code to clear and turn off the ABS light. Just swapping a part or disconnecting the battery won't do it.

Hi Ronnie thanks for your imput, the abs light comes on at 13 mph and stays on throws the same code 45 no others.Dave asked to take readings of the abs leads they are as follows LF 1157 RF 1161 RR 1151 LR 1133 I did notice that some of the plastic conduit was missing but no cracks or fraying anywhere.next step?

If I understand your use of "conduit" you mean the lead? Correct? Having a lead with part of the sensor lead casing is not good. What could be happening is that the lead is reading good while not in motion, but what happens is when you drive the car it loses continuity.

Jim Finn shared this with us years ago. Get your car back up on blocks, spin the wheel and while it is spinning read the voltage resistance, I'll bet you lose the reading. 

A lead that reads good while standing in place doesn't always mean it is good, especially one that has a damaged lead.