Zenith Auto Display at the Grand Nationals

I have been competing for the past 25 years in AACA meets including 7 Grand National Events.  I am not sure of exactly how many years the Zenith Awards have been part of the Grand Nationals but I believe it is 7 or 8 years. 

Without going into to much detail I understand these nominated cars are invited and given special consideration with regard to being housed in a seperate facility or tent prior to the show on Sat for the various classes. 

On Friday they are judged to see which automobile is selected to receive the Zenith Award.  They are then left as in Virginia

Beach in the tent for the class judging on Saturday.  They will be judged in the tent and not on the show field with the rest of the cars.

This I find the optics does not look very good to the hundreds of us who have our cars in place on the show field by 10 am Saturday.

I am told they are judged there for class awards but by who and when?

Most of the people competing on the show field have no idea if one of those cars is competing against them.

Why are they considered the elite of the competition when we can not see them judged along with us?

I find  that the same judges who judged my class will give the same consideration to those cars knowing they are invited to the Grand Nationals and do not have to deal with the same situation we have on the field.  First being in place by 10am and having to deal with the weather and the simple fact of seeing your competition.  I had no idea of what classes were in there and I am sure I was not alone.

So my suggestion to the AACA Grand National Committee is when the competition on Friday afternoon is over move them out and require them to be on the show field by 10am on Sat.  like the rest of us.

This is not a Concours Event and they are not elite owners.  We all put in untold hours of preparing our cars for this event and the optics stink.