Hello to the Riviera Forum - Riviera 1967

Guest Buick Felix

Guest Buick Felix

Hello,

I am new at the Riviera forum and and a new ROA member. My name is Peter (Stuttgart area / Germany) and last year at my family's USA trip the whole family (my wife, I and our 4 kids) fell in love with a 67' Riviera.

At our very first morning in Yucca Valley (Joshua Tree Park) we found this sleeping beauty in the backyard of my friend's house (please refer to picture). It turned out that this was the car of my friend's mother who was the only owner and bought it in 1967. She drove it for 79k miles until 1995. So my friend was thrilled to get this car up and running again and I got it for a very good price.

Now she (everybody calls the Buick "Old Lady") is in my garage. She takes care that we never get bored and never have to think about what to do with our money.

The good thing is: the engine (430) is running perfectly though the original carburetor is a bit touchy. Over the weekend we try an Edelbrock 1407 from a friend. Let's see. Transmission and steering seem to be ok, too. The headlights have already been changed to European standard.

Now there are some questions:

1. What's the appropriate power steering fluid?

2. We changed the engine oil with filter and filled 5 Qts. of oil in the engine (like the owner's manual tells) - but the dip stick tells us that we are about one inch above maximum level. 

3. Unfortunately we have climate automatic. I studied the whole manual and ordered a big amount of vacuum hoses. Flying to the moon was a piece of cake in comparison ;-). Any comments in getting this thing up and running again are highly appreciated (or ideas for converting to a manual mode)

4. A/C: there is still pressure on the system. But it is impossible to get R12 in Germany anymore. So I got a complete R134a-conversion kit from "Classic Auto Air" in Florida. If somebody has already installed this kit and could  send me a picture would be great.