1936 series 40 steering column question and ignition switch question

Guest born2lose

Guest born2lose

Does anyone has a diagram of what the inner steering shaft and upper bearing is supposed to be laid out. Also how do you take apart the ignition switch, such as removing the cylinder and switch knob

born2lose,

I photographed the picture below from an old Motor's Manual. The manual indicates that '35 - '51 Buicks use Saginaw Steering Gears. It lists several types of Saginaw steering gears but shows only 1 diagram, so I assume that the internal setup would be similar for them all. I couldn't find any info on the ignition switch. I'm not very good at posting pictures and I'm not sure if you can somehow expand the one here so you can read it. Hope this helps.

Les

post-91550-143142459161_thumb.jpg

Guest born2lose
born2lose,

I photographed the picture below from an old Motor's Manual. The manual indicates that '35 - '51 Buicks use Saginaw Steering Gears. It lists several types of Saginaw steering gears but shows only 1 diagram, so I assume that the internal setup would be similar for them all. I couldn't find any info on the ignition switch. I'm not very good at posting pictures and I'm not sure if you can somehow expand the one here so you can read it. Hope this helps.

Les

[ATTACH=CONFIG]242006[/ATTACH]

I appreciate the help but I was actually looking for the upper bearing diagram. That's my fault for not being specific enough. I appreciate the help though

You need this bearing

http://www.ebay.com/itm/1934-1935-1936-1937-1938-1939-1940-PONTIAC-BUICK-OLDS-NOS-STEERING-SHAFT-BEARING-/351044253486?pt=Vintage_Car_Truck_Parts_Accessories&hash=item51bbde372e&vxp=mtr

On my 1936 and 1934 there is a light spring fits over the steering shaft splined area and secures in a notch just below the bearing ( this gives a little pressure against the felt oil seal on the bearing - see photo ).