39 Ply Pickup trans interchange w/34 Dodge p/u

GDenton

I'm trying to locate a transmission that I am going to use in my restoration of my 34 Dodge pickup. I have a transmission out of a 39 Plymouth pickup. The number on the side is C-36502, and the number on the top behind the shifter is C-36274. I have located a transmission out of a 35 Dodge pickup, but don't really want to buy it if the 39 Plymouth transmission is the same. I haven't seen the Dodge Transmission, it's a couple of states away. Can anybody give me any hints as if it is the same. I have looked in the interchange book, and it looks like it should work to me, but I'm not an expert using the book. Thanks, Guy

I dont think the numbers on the tranny will help, I bet someone here can give you your answer but if not remind me and I will find the time to look it up no problem.

33Ply I bet will know

I don't know what the Dodge part numbers are so perhaps someone else can chime in on that. For the Plymouth trucks two different transmissions were used. Per the 1936-48 Plymouth Parts Manual, the complete transmission assembly part numbers are:

1063658 - A three speed transmission used on 1937 PT50, 1938 PT57, 1939 PT81, 1940 PT105 and 1941 PT125.

1063659 - A four speed transmission used on 1938 PT57, 1939 PT81, 1940 PT105 and 1941 PT125.

These numbers are higher than I'd expect the original part number for a '34 vehicle would have but I wouldn't be too surprised if they'd match up to the equivalent numbers given in a late '30s to late 40's Dodge parts book.

Hi I've got a 34 Plymouth and am currently installing a 38 Dodge gerabox in this. The car is on the hoist as I write this . I've been told it will fit and it looks like it will fit and I will tell you for sure within the next few days ! Karl