What does a 1931 Dictator radiator cap look like?

Guest 1931Dictator

Guest 1931Dictator

Being a newbie here, I am impressed with the depth and quality of information folks are sharing on here.

With that said, Does anyone have a picture, description, and/or source on a '31 dictator rad cap? This was missing when my wife's grandpa found the car and restored it. He found a non-correct cap and put it on for the time being.

I appreciate any help that folks can provide.

Bret

The pictures posted by Keiser31 are optional caps offered by Studebaker in 1932. In 1931 the radiator cap was a plain flat cap. I do not have a picture off hand; I will look to see if I can locate one. The cap that is seen most often on 1931 Studebaker’s is the bird ornament seen in photo on right above. Because this was an official Studebaker optional radiator cap it was available retroactively to the 1931 model year cars. The factory standard flat radiator cap is rarely seen as most every owner of the 1931-32 Studebaker uses the optional bird mascot radiator cap.

Sorry if I was mistaken. I am not a Studebaker guy and "1931" is what it said on the photos of these cars. I have actually had a cap that was made without the bird. It went on ebay.

Keiser31: No problem, even most Studebaker guys think the optional 1932 bird mascot was the standard cap issued in the 1931 model year.

Here is a factory photo of a 1931 Dictator from Bill Cannon’s book “Studebaker: The Complete Story” page 142. The picture depicts the car with a plain flat cap.

post-30688-143138152806_thumb.jpg

post-30688-143138152807_thumb.jpg

Keiser31: No problem, even most Studebaker guys think the optional 1932 bird mascot was the standard cap issued in the 1931 model year.

Here is a factory photo of a 1931 Dictator from Bill Cannon’s book “Studebaker: The Complete Story” page 142. The picture depicts the car with a plain flat cap.