My dashboard knob quest

Keith L.

As some of you may know I’m an artist by profession and for the past eight years I’ve studied mold making and casting to further my art projects. One of my projects this year was to recast a ’40-’41 steering wheel, and also to duplicate the plastic knobs from my car,

Attached are photos of my progress so far.

The first photo is the original button; the second is a reproduction (number 11). Photo number three are urethane coins made from an uncirrulated mercury head dime, on top of a fifty cent piece, to show the detail obtainable using a silicone mold. The next photo shows copies from the clamshell mold (blue). These buttons are color tests ONLY and the numbers correspond to a color formula in a notebook. At the time the photo was taken (about three weeks ago) I had not cast the escutcheons yet.

The next photo was taken today. It shows the door button and escutcheon ring, cigar lighter knob and a blank knob, I have also molded but not yet cast the rest of the escutcheon rings and some of the lettered dash knobs.

The hardest part of this process is getting the color right. Any small variation in adding color to the opaque white formula would give wildly different results. My first efforts (the pix with all the buttons) the colors are opaque, not like the original Zephyr knobs. After a lot of experiments using different urethane formulas I am now able to duplicate the correct color consistently with every pour.

I would now like to ask for your help. There are several knobs I am missing to complete the entire set. Here are the dash and window items I need to complete my dash and window set for my ’41. coupe.

• Windshield wiper control knob

• Ashtray knob (for the dash)

• Turn signal handle

• Shift knob

• Vent window crank knob

• Window crank knob