‘65 stick shift....

moran75

Hi all

my 65 was a non runner / stopper when I bought it -though I have now got it running (not stopping) and am moving onto other areas that need attn....

My question is if anyone knows if there is a resource /drawing etc relating specifically to working of the button on top of the stick shift and how it relates to shifting gears through the transmission? Appears not to be listed in manual. Maybe because it’s blindingly obvious but I’ve no experience with such things....

hence wanting to to read up.....

i anticipate having to work on the stick shift/button on top the consul as it feels imprecise , and although it moves  freely thru Park to L2 , when out of P (where it ‘locks’ into place with a satisfying click ) the button doesn’t seem to have much effect,/use and is not needed to shift thru range...the satisfying click is not repeated.

many thanks in advance

kev

Hi Kev,

Not sure if this helps, but on my '65 the only position you'll get that 'click' is when moving the shift lever into PARK.  The behavior you describe sounds normal to me.

As you've noticed, to drive the car you need to push down on the shifter top button to move the lever out of the PARK position.  Once the lever is out of Park, it'll move freely (no clicking or anything) to reach Reverse, Neutral, and Drive.   Pulling the lever straight down after you leave PARK (and let go of the top button) brings you to a detent that stops the lever in the DRIVE position.  Once in DRIVE you can bump the lever up into NEUTRAL without needing to press the top button.  But, you can't reach PARK without pressing the top button.  Conversely, when in Drive you must push the top button to engage L2 and L1.  Once you're in L2 you can pull the shifter down to L1 (and vice-versa) without need to push the top button again.