ABS control module

Guest wally888

Would be interesting to know, how you know,<BR>you need a new EBCM?<BR> I have used the forum for several years and remember few failed modules.

Guest wally888

Jim,<BR> Hope he has better luck than I sometimes have.<BR> Several years ago I started the Brake Article because of sloppy diagnosis by an independent and a dealer. The antilock light was on and the independent, after spending a day w/ VOM, said I had a bad ground connection behind the dash. To fix he would need to remove the dash. ( at that time I knew little, not much more now) I said I'd fix it myself and started reading the manual, etc. Replacing the relay, $8, fixed the problem!

Very important, replace the relays first! If you go through the factory testing procedure for the ABS system, if happens to miss insufficient current flow through the main(or pump) relay. The trouble chart uses dvom readings through an unloaded relay, and that test doesn't work. <P> I've been a buick mechanic for 10+ years now, and I mistakingly relaced an ebcm on a Reatta for this condition when I first started by being taught to strictly follow published service manual tests. It was under warranty, so the customer didn't get hurt, but ever since, I just studied the schematic and fixed the car. I get constant complaints from the warranty clerk(devil woman Helen) for not having a published procedure for my diagnostics. Can't win, Can't win. Thanks for the complaint space!<P> Anyway, swap the pump and main relay, located front and center of the firewall, under the hood, and it might temporarily relieve the problem. There might be three relays, one would be the fuel pump, but let us know. ebcm failure is quite rare on these, but murphy's law dictates that it can and does happen.