Olds 330 engine

I recently purchased '67 Cutlass convertible. A sticker on the left valve cover describes the engine as 330 cubic inches, 320 HP, 360 FT LBS torque, 10.5 compression ratio. It has a Rochester Quadrajet carb and dual exhausts.

That is obviously awesome output from a stock engine.

Since I'm new to Oldmobiles, I'm not familiar with that engine. I've never seen any performance parts listed in catalogs for the 330 engine, nor have I ever seen the engine mentioned in any general interest performance magazines such as Hot Rod, etc.

Can anyone tell me anything about this engine? Especially, does it take parts from, or is it similar to, any of the more common engines such as the Chevy 327? Is this generally considered to be a good engine?

Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks.

Doesn't share anything with a Chevrolet engine. 330 were made 1964-67 and were respectable little engines, capable of impressive output. They were enlarged to 350 cid in 1968 to follow the General's trend- Chevy had a new 350, and the others had 330 (Olds), 340 (Buick), and 326 (Pontiac) engines, and no way were they going to allow lowly Chevrolet to have a bigger small-displacement engine. So, out came the boring bars, and next thing they all had 350s.

The reason there isn't anything much 330-specific out there is due to the fact it is considered an obsolete engine. However, everything except pistons interchanges with the other Olds small-blocks, and some stuff will interchange with the 400/425/455 engine family.

As long as it will tolerate available gasoline, you won't have many issues with it. The 320 horse engine was made for 100+ octane gasoline which was common and cheap when these engines were built.

BTW, all 330 had forged cranks if that eases your mind any.

Guest Dave Wyatt