Oiling question-'51 Pontiac flathead straight 8

Andy J

Andy J

Members

Posted just now

Today I'm trying to start my fresh Pontiac straight 8,engine completely rebuilt,bored,new pistons,crank turned,valve job.I spun it over for a couple of minutes and didn't get oil pressure at the gauge.Thinking the line to the gauge may be stopped up,I took it off and checked it and it was open.I left it off and continued to spin it over, watching for oil coming out of the oil galley.No oil yet,so I pulled the plugs out thinking it would spin faster,thus speeding up the oiling process.

My question:how long should it take for oil to come from the pump into the engine? I called an old friend I know that is familiar with these engines and he said 10-12 minutes.Does this sound reasonable? I've never worked on a flathead before,so I'm somewhat in the dark about these engines.Any advice will be greatly appreciated.

• Like 1

When I rebuilt my flathead I was super paranoid about getting oil to lubricate the engine during the initial startup. I wasn't sure if the internal oil cleaner had to fill up before the oil pump could built up pressure. I didn't take a chance and devised a relatively simple method to fill and prime the oil passages. I used a brake bleeder jug to force oil into one of the extra, unused oil passages on the side of the block. The line leading to the block is connected so it's under the fluid level. I set my air compressor to a low setting and pushed a quart of oil into the block. Was this necessary or maybe even silly? I don't know. But what I do know is that when I cranked the engine for the first time oil pressure came up in a matter of seconds. Hopefully someone with more experience with these flatheads gives you a definitive answer to your question. 

Pressure Oil Prime.jpg

• Like 3

If the oil pump is completely dry it'll have a hard time drawing up the oil.