1991 Mazda Miata Restoration! - NEED ADVICE/HELP!

Redin

Hello everyone, I'd like to mention this is my first time on this forum so if I posted this in the wrong location my apologies! I posted a video on YouTube because I am in need of some opinions and help! Please see the link below and follow along if you may.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ncmktoDdsMU

0:45 -
So right from the start I've been having an electoral issue where the battery kept dying even though the alternator was giving proper amount of volts with my multimeter. Once I took the dashboard off and seen the amount of aftermarket BS they had I thought to myself this could be the problem (The reason I bought a new harness) Does this sound about right? The aftermarket stuff was spliced into almost every factory wire.

1:50 -
Is the small spot where I've already grinded down good enough to do the next steps, Use rust converter or remover and then paint overtop of it. Does anyone have products that they would recommend for these steps?
(I'm going to regrind the surface rust that has formed before painting)

2:55 -
Is the rust past repair on the inside of the rocker panel? Could I grind down and the strong spots and repair the weak? I am hoping to continue removing any damaged areas that I find.

3:54-
In regards to welding in a new frame rail, should I go with a more thicker metal as the stock metal is known for crumbling? Should I weld the new frame rails in line with the previous frame rails or can I just cap it over the remaining frame rails still having it bud up against the bottom of the new floor pan for spot welds?
*Also side note if anyone can recommend product/steps to painting the underbody, I've seen that people don't like using the rubber spray stuff but I wanted some opinions!

4:40-
The small spot on the exterior rocker panel that the previous owner repaired, is this a worry? Should I grind more out to see in behind or is it safe to just repair the one location?

5:03-