Need Help with a 1935 Pontiac - Rear main bearing seal leaking

skipsmustang1965

I am new to the AACA and to this forum so any help would be greatly appreciated. I recently purchased a 1935 Pontiac and it's a super cool car! It has been leaking some oil which I kind of expected for an eighty year old girl. Did some investigating today and the oil is leaking out of the flywheel cover so I suspect the rear main bearing seal is the culprit. I know this can be very labor intensive so I was wondering if anyone has suggestions for a temporary fix such as these No Leak/Stop Leak oil additives? Has anyone ever had success with these type of products and if so which one(s) work the best?

Thanks for helping out a Newbie!!!

The rear main bearing seal on these cars is a rope impregnated with graphite and compressed. When it is worn out there is no quick fix. It can be replaced without removing the motor or crankshaft. To do so the pan must be removed, the rear cap removed and the other mains loosened. The section of the old seal in the cap can easily be removed, but the part in the block isn't as easy, try needle nose pliers to pull it out. Pushing it usually doesn't work. The slickest way to install a new one in the block is with a "Chinese finger pull" devise which you first push around through the groove, then attach to the seal part and pull through. The new part for the bottom cap should be worked into it's groove and compressed some for a tight fit with an appropriate cylindrical object. Then, the excess projecting portion of both should be trimmed.