White Lead/Red Lead

Guest Hal Davis (MODEL A HAL)

Is prussian blue the same as "lay out fluid"? I tried the layout fluid, but am having a real hard time getting it to wear off the gear teeth. I can't get a good pattern with it. Will the prussian blue wear off better?<P>I tried white lithium grease too, but it smears real bad and I can't see a good pattern with it either.

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by MODEL A HAL:<BR><B>Where can I find white lead or red lead to use to check gear tooth contact pattern?<P></B><HR></BLOCKQUOTE><P>I am a heavy-duty mechanic by trade, and have never found bluing or grease to work very well for setting tooth contact. What does work well however, is the white spray developer from a crack check kit. With this kit you spray a runny dye onto the part, then clean it off. You then spray the developer on, and any red dye in any fine cracks will blead through and show up in the white developer. I find that just spraying the developer onto the crown gear and letting it dry, it works better than anything else I have tried. If it works well on a Caterpillar 980 I'm sure it will work on a Model "A".

No.prussian blue and lay-out fluid are not the same.Lay out fluid is an alchol based paint,which dries quickly and is used to scribe a layout on metal in the machine shop trade.Prussian blue is a non-drying grease-like substance which is used to show high spots or contact paterns when setting gear mesh, or when fitting main or rod bearings on the old poured babbit type bearings

Historically, up to 20 years ago I know, white lead was used to seal the glass in the brass porthole frames in ships. Hal, since you live in a port city you might fimd some at an older shipyard. ~~ Howard