Fluid Recommendations - 1927 Brougham Sedan

Guest Rkycacher

Guest Rkycacher

Hello - Long time admirer, first time poster...

I am a new owner of a Brougham Sedan. I'm just getting started with my restoration and look forward to sharing my experience and leaning on the experience of others on this forum. My Buick hasn't run in about 20 years. I am in the process of obtaining an owner's/repair manual, but can't wait to get started...

I plan to start marching through Rusty OToole's write-up for starting an old engine this weekend; however I made the mistake last weekend to start re-freshing the fluids (I know I jumped the gun...).

Can someone please advise me on what fluids I should use in my Buick? If this is posted elsewhere please let me know...

• What kind of engine oil do you recommend? How much oil should my '27 require (I don't know if I have a side-plug or not)?
  • What do you recommend for other fluids?
  • Additionally, I've got to replace the battery this weekend. I've read online that some people recommend upgrading from a 6 volt to an 8 volt. What do you recommend for a somewhat colder climate (Denver)?

Thanks!

Jody

Welcome to the forum, we would all like to see some photos of your car if you can post them. If your car has not run in 20 years you do need to change all the fluids but there are other things I would recommend you do before trying to start it:

-drain engine oil, drop the pan and clean out all the sludge, be sure to clean any screen filters. Get your gaskets at Olson's.

-drain the gas tank, remove it, and be sure it is clean and not rusted out. Blow out the fuel lines and be sure the gas cap vent is open. You may want to do the first start with a small portable gas tank run right to the carb bypassing the rest of the fuel system.

-remove and rebuild the vacuum fuel pump and carburetor, they will probably be gummed up with old gas varnish.

-remove the spark plugs, clean and regap. Also file and check the point gap.