1950 Fuel Pump

Guest James Conkwright

Guest James Conkwright

HI. Let me first say I'm no expert on fuel pumps. I don't really know anything about them. Here is my problem. I have had a mechanic rebuilding my original fuel pump on my Buick. To my knowledge it has never been rebuilt. It is an original AC pump.

There were 4 check valves within the fuel pump when it was taken apart. 3 of these were exactly the same. When put up to the mouth it was pretty hard to blow air through them. The 4th valve was different. It was much easier to blow air through.

I ordered my kit through Antique Auto Parts Cellar. Good quality stuff by the way! My issue is that the valves within this kit were all the same. They tell me they are supposed to be the same. Bobs also tells me that to his knowledge all 4 valves should be the same.

My fuel pump is not working now. It will not draw gas from the tank. Why did my original pump have three of the same valves and one different? I have an early 1950. Did 1949 have a different fuel pump?

Thanks for the help!

Guest James Conkwright

I would also like to add something else. Everyone I've talked to seems to think there is only one style fuel pump for 1950. I always thought this was the case also. Every 1950 Buick I've seen has what the shop book calls an air dome on top of the pump. My pump is flat. It does not have an air dome. The shop book says Series 40-50 should not have an air dome but the Series 70 should. All 40 and 50 series cars I've seen have the air dome which according to the shop manual is wrong.

Hate to see you without an answer, and did not want you to think people were ignoring you. Chances are no one has the information you seek and rather than call it wrong, prefer to say nothing. So here's two guesses which may also be completely wrong: