Gen indicator light problem

JohnD1956

The generator indicator light on my 69 Electra is not lighting as it's supposed to, when the ignition is on and the engine is not started. I tried several bulbs including one known to be working so it's definitely not the bulb.

Coincidentally the fuel guage is malfunctioning too, and both of these circuits seem to share at least one wire in the shop manual.

The manual says that one possible cause is an open diode. I just don't understandwhere there may be a diode in this except in the voltage regulator or in the alternator. The system seems to be charging like it should, as the battery is holding a charge and the cranking is the same as it's been for over a year now.

There is a rebuilt starter in this for at least a year, and I believe the gen light worked at least up to this past week. But I can't swear to it.

Can anyone help explain this diode thing?

Thank you

I am no electrician but from what I understand a diode is like a check valve, for electricity it will only allow it to move in one direction. Regulators are no big deal to change but I don't think the problem is there. Again, could be wrong but what the heck would a diode have to do with the gas gage not working. You may have a ground issue with this circuit.

I'm going to check that gas guage ground today, but the guage is not displaying the typical ground issue. What I've seen of a gas guage ground fault is that the guage will read full all the time( or is it empty? I can't remember) but my guage is working partially, in a very narrow band between a half tank and a bit over the 3/4 mark. For the longest time I thought it had a half tank, and since the car was rarely moved I did not suspect anything. Then I put a large quanity of gas in and the guage did not move. So I took out a loan and filled the tank and the guage moved to just over the 3/4 full position. So it seems to be working to some degree, just not all the way.