Model T has not run in a long time

herbertg

I have a question for you Model T experts. I have a 1915 Model T that has not run in quite some time. I have done the usual things to ensure it will start, but it needs some help that I am not an expert at troubleshooting. I have fresh gas in the car. I checked to ensure it is getting gas. When I turn the gas supply on to the carb under the hood and after I choke it, some gas runs on the driveway. Coasting it down the driveway no longer works either. It really doesn't want to run.

I appreciate your help,

Steve

Guest simplyconnected

Has it got spark? If so,

Are the cylinders flooded (spark plugs wet)? If so, let it dry out and try again.

Don't forget to advance the spark for starting.

You probably know all this, but sometimes your problems are simple and the answer is overlooked. Hope this helps. - Dave

The coils are buzzing when I try to crank it. Once it runs, we would always switch to the magneto, but that was a long time ago. The spark is in the full retard mode and the gas is about 1/4 of the way open on all of my attempts.

Thanks for the help,

Steve

• 2 weeks later...
  • 1 month later...

I might know where to check so ya can get it running....