63 seat legroom

petelempert

Just installed newly re-upholsered seats in my 63. They look great, but suddenly I'm feeling much taller.  I guess I never noticed the lack of legroom while the old seats were slouchy. Now that my seats are firm, I'm feeling very close to the windshield even though the seat is fully adjusted backwards. I'm not some NBAer, rather I'm 5'11. I'm seriously considering customizing the tracks on the drivers seat to get a little more room. Over the years, I'm seen posts about various solutions. Anybody out there has success with this problem? Let me know. Thx PRL

• Like 1

Pete,

I'm 6'-5" and I've had some experience moving seats back in my cars. I like both front seats to match, so here's what I did to gain 3" of leg room in my Riviera.

I bought a piece of 1/8" thick x 4" wide x 28" long piece of plain carbon steel at my local hardware store and cut it into 7-pieces each 4" x 4" long. 

Using the original front clips as a template, I drilled two 5/16" clearance holes 1/2" from the front edge on four of the pieces. Then using the first two holes as reference points, I clamped and welded the front clips 3" back (center hole to center hole) from the opposite edge. These four pieces are the front extensions. 

Next, I took two 4" x 4" plates and using the rear outer seat track section (the one with TWO holes) as a template and I drilled two 5/16" clearance holes 1/2" from one edge. Then, measuring 3" back drilled two more 5/16" clearance holes on the opposite edge and welded two 5/16"-18 nuts over the two rear holes. These two pieces are the rear-outer extensions.