NO DASH LIGHTS

dmashburn

Guest CL_Reatta

Hi and welcome... first of all PLEASE TAKE CAPS OFF... it intends yelling. is the dash completly blank, or is it the lights everywhere else?

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: dmashburn</div><div class="ubbcode-body">THE DASH LIGHTS ON MY 89 BUICK REATTA JUST QUIT WORKING. MY UNDERSTANDING IS THE INSTRUMENT PANEL SHOULD BE REPLACED. ANY ADVICE WOULD BE GREATLY APPRECIATED. </div></div>Welcome to the forum. Please include the model of you car in all your posts or even better include it in your signature line. There were two completely different instrument panels used in the Reatta. '88-'89 and '90-'91.

sorry about the caps. I am new to this. None of the dash lights work at all & neither do any of the lights for the headlights for the headlight switch or the windshield wiper switch. When I push the test light everything remains blank. Any suggestions?

The instrument panel problem is not related to the backlights on the headlight and wiper pods.

First off do you get the light show? Start by getting into your car using the outside door latch. When you sit in the drivers seat and close the drivers door, the car will go thru a series of checks utilizing the dash instrumentation. This is commonly referred to as the "light show". The dash and light pods should light up.

If the dash does not work during the show or when the key is in the "on" position it probably means the Instrument Cluster is dead and should be replaced. If it works, we proceed to the backlights on the switches. I or a number of others have a used IPC you can buy.