Can you identify this pre-GM vehicle?

manikmekanik

Guest John W. Cina

I just thought I'd add a little $ .02 .

Yes the Durant-Dort carraiage company did build some good ones.

I've been driving horses for almost 35 years. I have a Cutter with similiar painting on it.

Nice to have orginal condition vehicles like that. Most cutters/sleighs were taken out for different ocassions than stuck back in the shed where they stayed - keeping them nice.

My kids used to get a ride to school in the sleighs.

We have an event in January its called the " St. Paul Winter Carnival Sleigh and Cutter Parade " held the end of January where we have probably the Worlds largest gathering and longest running event of Horse and Sleighs.

I always have felt its fun driving horse ----- and also collecting and driving OLD cars -------

It gives a real insight into the evolution of early transportation.

Well we got about a 1/2" snow so Santa may make it in his Sleigh --------

[color:"red"] MERRY CHRISTMAS [color:"green"]to all .......... John in MN. 3)- 1921 DORT touring cars

John

That's neat.

My grandmother, who lived in Freeborn, Minnesota, used a cutter to take herself to school every day in the winter. That sleigh remained in the family barn, then the garage rafters for a long, long time, and was in very, very good condition. I wish I knew the maker of it.

In the 1980s, when I told the family I would like to have the sleigh, much to my dismay, it had been sold by her niece without asking any of my grandmother's direct decendants. I was not very happy. That's what happens, I guess, when you move so far away from home.

Merry Christmas, everyone.

• 10 months later...

Thanks for the excellent feedback, gentlemen!

I've been away from this thread for a year, but posted a new one in the Durant forum.