DB body

We are restoring a DB Tourer frame # 9816. I am concerned with the body. It has four opening doors. It also has a what appears to be either a riveted or reinforced/repaired area behind the rear wheels wrapping around the rear of the body.Is this normal for a 1915 DB body?

post-47315-143137901224_thumb.jpg

The serial # that I located is on the frame rail under the passenger seat.The automobile is mostly all there and is completely disassembled.The frame steering and suspension has been blasted and primered and first coats of paint applied to the frame. One door needs extensive repair along with the top bows and some bracketery.The engine runs just fine but I will disassemble it and check all clearances etc before it goes back into service.

I was hoping for RAH or one of the other '15 experts to pick up on this. I'm a novice on '15's, but I'd say your car should not have that piece. The bodies were ONE pieces, except for doors, fenders, etc. I'VE never seen a piece riveted like that. It should however have a hand pump on the dash,for gas, 2 fuel lines from the tank. One would be supply, the other return. The engine should also have a fuel pump on the right side behind the magneto. What is the engine number? Sure would like to see some more detail pics, too. Looks like a good car. That serial number would put it around May of '15 build date. I think you said it runs OK, why take it apart?

Thanks for the reply. My question would be, do I restore this body as is? I do not have the hand pump. But the fuel pump is on the engine and there is a fuel pressure gauge in the dash. I am having a hard time deciphering the engine number. It looks like it has been stamped over? I come up with 5600615. What pics are you interested in? This auto is completely disassembled.