Chrysler Question

Hello out there.

I had a question for someone who knows antique Chryslers. I recently came across a 1950 Chrysler Windsor Highlander. This is a 4-door sedan. It has a flathead straight 6, says "Spitfire" on engine. All original, 36,000 miles. The seller is asking $6500 for the car. I have little experience with cars of this vintage. My experience is in Mustangs and 1970's Triumph TR-6's. The Chrysler looks complete and is in great condition. The paint is in need of love, but no rust and the paint is complete, no scratches or dings, just dull. My question is this, is it worth the money to freshen up a car like this (4-door and all)? Is the asking price fair? What would the car be worth when done to showroom status?

Any help would be appreciated. Thank you in advance.

Chris Pommier

sounds like a nice low mileage original car.

from my personal experience i know that chrysler products dont have the same interest as many others from the same era. I have a 1948 new yorker and a 1950 royal woodie wagon. The wagon is unique but its still work half what an equivalent ford or chevy bring.

the car you have is never going to be high-dollar. but if you like it, and will enjoy it, then the price being asked doesnt seem out of line. give it a nice paint job - then drive the wheels off of it.

hope that helps.

peter

Pommier, I'd think you should have another $1500.00 or so in reserve to update the brakes and annoying engine problems associated with a car that hasn't been driven a lot. Low milage cars need drivetrain updates from gummed up gas lines, oil passages and the like. The price is right though. Wayne