Squishy Brakes

The brakes on my 1989 TC have some kind of problem. When you step on the brakes the peddle goes too far down and if you pump them a few times the peddle comes back up normally. Any thoughts on this problem would be appriciated.

Check your December issue of the TC America Club newsletter.

The "Timely Tips" column is devoted to this subject. *If* your

actuator needs repair it can be rebuilt through a company in

TX for a little over $500 instead of the $1,200+ that Chrysler wants.

Larry

• 2 weeks later...

Thanks for the reply....I am a new member and don't have that issue.

I had a local mechanic check the brakes and he found the rotors, brake pads, and rear calipers to be bad. He said the fade problem with the pedel is caused by the master clylinder. I'm not a mechanic so I don't know....will most Chrysler dealers work on this problem....any problems getting the part? Any suggestions....am I getting screwed by my mechanic....

It is difficult for a mechanic to determine what is wrong with a car without it being in front of him. Your car does not have a traditional "master cylinder", it has an ABS system. The part that does the same thing is the actuator - it is about $1,400 new from the dealer or you can send it off to Prior in TX for about $540 to be rebuilt. Many TC owners have been paying thousands of dollars for ABS repairs when the cars only need a $170 accumulator and a $1 fuse. Yours will probably need a lot more than that, but make sure you have a competent mechanic that will give you a price *before* they start the work.

Larry

Larry;

Thanks for the reply...

You said I might need an accumulator and fuse?

Do you know if I need the whole assembly (master cly and abs) or can I just get the master cly?

I wish I was a mech. and I knew what I needed

Paul

• 1 month later...

hi