4-cyl valve adjustment

hursst

Does anyone know of any good references regarding valve adjustment on the early 4-cyl? I'm a beginner with engines, but the info in the original owner's manual appears to be a little vague. Is it just a matter of putting cyl 1 at Top Dead Center, making the factory adjustments according to the manual and repeating the same procedure with cyl's 2, 3, and 4, or is there more to it? How do I rotate the engine to get the piston exactly at T.D.C. ? Thanks for any help!

Does anyone know of any good references regarding valve adjustment on the early 4-cyl? I'm a beginner with engines, but the info in the original owner's manual appears to be a little vague. Is it just a matter of putting cyl 1 at Top Dead Center, making the factory adjustments according to the manual and repeating the same procedure with cyl's 2, 3, and 4, or is there more to it? How do I rotate the engine to get the piston exactly at T.D.C. ? Thanks for any help!

First up we know the firing order goes 1 3 4 2, this then is the easiest sequence to adjust the valves in.

In order to get each piston at TDC to carry out the valve adjustment, it is probably easiest to refer to the distributor rotor position as a guide, rather than timing marks.

If you understand that the distributor rotor will be pointing to the appropriate spark plug lead, as each cylinder fires in sequence, then its a "close enough" method of locating each piston at TDC.

So at the distributor cap, first determine which plug leads connect to 1 3 4 and 2 spark plugs, now remove the spark plugs so as to easily turn the engine over with crank handle, or you should be able to turn by hand using the fan and belt; you now need to establish that the engine has to be turned clockwise, as viewed from the front, to carry out the next steps.