'24 exhaust downpipe

Guest occrj

Guest occrj

Hi all,

I took the exhaust system off mine today as it was blowing at the manifold/downpipe joint, and also has a hole further back so I'll probably get a new system made up using this as a pattern.

My question is: at the top of the downpipe, just below the mounting flange, there are a number of drilled holes (ie intentional holes, not rusted out) around the circumference. What are these for? all they appear to do is leak exhaust gases, are they necessary or can I just ignore them when I have a new system made up? Maybe someone made up the downpipe from another system and these holes shouldn't be there?

thanks, Richard.

Awful strange there Richard. It would seem to defeat the purpose of ducting carbon monoxide out behind you and not up through the floor boards. I'm not an expert but I can tell you that the rusted pipe that was on my 25 had no such holes nor did the replacement I bought from Meyers. I sure wouldn't duplicate that feature.

Those holes were put there for the car's heater. The Dodges used a cast iron assembly that bolted to the exhaust pipe, robbed hot gasses from pipe when lever was pulled inside car, in turn heating a coil that gave off the heat. Someone took off the heater bypass unit and left the holes. I have one of these units here.

Guest occrj

Ah I've read something about Dodge heaters (saloons/sedans only?), I think I can omit that feature in the replacement pipework - thanks :)

Richard