91 Riviera IPC Problem

Guest vlg

Hi,ihave a 91 Riv with the instrument cluster not coming on most of the time.When this occurs it is dark except for 00 and error showing.It works fine on occasions,usually when it sits overnite and i start it in temps below 25 degrees or strangely after it runs for over a half hour!I was a Cadillac tune up tech for many years back when this car was new,i remember doing some electrical work when things were slow,i did some repairs on Eldorados which is the same vewhicle-GM-E- body and replacing a central power supply-CPS for similiar issue,did some checking and found my car don,t have a CPS.I did what was done then on Cadillacs-pushed on a/c panel,the off and warmer buttons and got dtc,s-b1334,b3334,b3354,b3364,b4464,e047.I have replaced the IPC and BCM and no change,still intermittent IPC.Also the previous owner brought the car to many shops and no one was able to fix it and she gave up,bought a new car and sold it to me.Same poroblem still after all these parts-intermittent IPC operation.If it means anything the odometer ,both regular and trip odometers keeps miles when dash is dark very accurately!Any ideas?

We deal with this problem quite a bit over on the Reatta site. The '90-93 Instrument Clusters are a "weak link" item in regards to your car. There are a number of cold solder joints that when cold don't make contact. Once warm the contact is made and then everything works. The miles [trip and odometer] are stored in the computer not the Instrument Cluster. You can go on Ebay and have it rebuilt or if you want I have a good unit available. PM me if interested.

Thanks, Dave

Follow Daves89's advice. You probably installed a bad IPC and/or BCM. Also, you might want to check your pin connections at the IPC and BCM and the overall condition of the wiring harness itself. I believe the codes you quoted point to IPC/BCM communication problems (serial data breakdown).