46 lincoln vin#'s

Guest 46lincoln

Guest 46lincoln

Hello, I am a newbie to this forum, but have a question for the experts.

My grandfather is about to purchase a 46 lincoln with VIN# H145318. I have spent hours researching this VIN# and have not been able to find out if this is supposed to be a convertiable or a coupe. The car is currently a convertiable, but I think that it was orginally a coupe that someone cut the top off of since there were onle about 200 convertiables made from that year.

Does anyone know where I can get a list of VIN#'s for the different model's for 1946 or does anybody know what this car was originally?? Thanks for all of your help.

A picture would be helpful, also if it's a Continental or a Lincoln. I've never heard that many of the coupes were chopped into convertibles. The coupes are almost as rare, with only 265 built.

You need to find the body number.

Continental Coupe: 66H57

Continental Convertible: 66H56

Lincoln coupe: 66H77

Lincoln convertible: 66H76

Lincoln sedan: 66H73

Supposedly the serial number would have these numbers

Guest 46lincoln

Thanks for the reply. I do not have any pics at this time. I remember the crome on the dashboard saying "lincoln contentinal."

Just the FYI this car was found in a junkyard about to go into the crusher. It does not have the original engine and is not in the best shape, but before he makes it into a hotrod, I figured that I would try and find out if it is worth restoring back to orginial condition.

Where would I find the body#/serial#??

I'll find out for sure, but I think it may be on the door-hing post. There are other places stamped on the body, too, such as around the drip rail of the trunk opening. It may not be the whole serial number, but I think it gives the part you're looking for.

I'm trying to get a hold of my stepfather, who has a '42.

Guest 46lincoln