'25 Transmission Gear Oil Foaming

Guest oldodgeboys

Guest oldodgeboys

I've been using Shell 1500w gear oil from RSC for a few months now. The oil viscosity works nicely for slowing the gears during shifting.

I noticed that as I drive about 5 miles or further, the trans starts to warm up and shifting gets tougher without grinding the gears.

When I look into the gear box after a run I see the oil is frothy. It takes hours to settle the air bubbles back out of the oil.

I'm wondering if other DB's experience the same oil foaming, or is this an effect of the oil I'm using?

Guest earliriser

Thats some thick sounding oil your running there. I'm no expert on DB's for sure.

I have always replaced 600w with a 50/50 of 140w and stp or lucas additive.

If it heats up there's to much friction. That would scare me.

Just a noobie here but I have worked on a lot of oldies.

My thoughts are if its frothy than its not properly lubricating your gears and you will burn the tranny up in short time. Air bubbles = poor lubrication. Thats why shifting becomes tougher, lack of lubrication.

Guest oldodgeboys

Your right about the foam causing poor lube and higher heat.

I put the same question to RSC. who in turn also put the question to Shell. Both agree that the viscosity may be too high which could cause foaming.

I'm draining the oil this weekend and refilling with 600w, as I (semi)successfully used before. I'll post the results here later.

The 1500 lube did help with the leaks and the gear crunching (under 5 miles anyway), so I'll miss those benefits. Ironically, and despite the high sounding viscosity, the 1500 is only slightly thicker than the 600.

Guest oldodgeboys

I drained the 1500 oil and refilled with 600 oil. After driving the same 5 miles, the amount of foam in the oil was only slightly less.