V-12 intake manifold gaskets

Here's a question from John Murphy in Florida regarding the differences in some V-12 intake manifolds. I don't have an answer, but perhaps someone on this forum can shed some light on the topic.

"Got a puzzler for you and need your input. Was looking at a V-12 intake manifold gasket prior to mounting on an engine and noticed that there was no hole in the gasket where the tube from the air cleaner is mounted. I checked my other cars and discovered that the gasket in two do not have an opening and two are opened. I wonder how many of our cars do not have the gaskets opened. What about yours? Doesn't not having access to recirculating the crankcase fumes defeat the purpose of the air cleaner tube? I am not a mechanic....just puzzled."

How about it, Dee??

By the way, John has several interesting lincolns, including this gorgeous 1940 Continental. (That bronze color isn't bogus. It's the original special-ordered color for that car.)

post-32768-143138070677_thumb.jpg

post-32768-14313807068_thumb.jpg

More from John Murphy:

"More on the conundrum;

Went back into the parts garage and polled the spare engines (all used). I have a total of 12 engines with attached intake manifolds. Altogether, four engines have the gaskets pierced with a hole providing access to the crankcase fumes and eight are holeless.

With eight well used engines "holeless" I wonder why the vent tube was ever invented?

Hope the "Forum" can provide some answers.

Ol conundrum John"

The early engines relied on a draft tube for crankcase ventilation and did not have the vent hole in the manifold. I believe that vent hole appeared in '39 or '40? The 4 barrel manifold I got from Austin didn't have this vent because he used an early manifold for a "pattern". Had to drill and tap a hole in it for this tube.