The rookie

Guest MelJan

Can you give advice to a rookie? I am trying to pull the front brake drum off a '38 D10 Business Coupe, and find a replacement drum. My common sense techniques at removal are not working, so is there a trick?

I am also trying to find out what color the original paint was, and only have a paint code: 1507

Advice and tips are most welcome.

Just be certain that the brake shoes are adjusted in as far as possible so that if there are grooves in the drum, it will not get caught on the shoes. I always turn the drum while trying to remove it.

Thanks Jim - that was helpful, but for some reason the paint code that I wrote down from the tag was not shown there. The car may have been mfg in Canada, and therefore may have a different code - but I am guessing.

Thanks J.A.(2) - being a rookie, I wasn't aware one was needed, which means I am definitely on a steep learning curve.

Guest imported_woodwheels

US model #'s for '37 were D-5. for 38 D-8 and 39- was D-11. I suggest you go to DodgeBrothersClub.org, bring up the technical advisors and contact the '36-'38 tech advisor, John Nieder. My inclination is that you do have a Canadian car, if so it would have a Plymouth engine in it. '38 Plym engine #'s started with P6-, 38- Dodge with D-8. Jim '33 tech advisor Dodge Bros Club

Thanks for the info. The info I was able to gleen from the tags on the firewall are:

Model D10 B CPE

Body No. 322

Trim Code AKJ

Paint Code 1507

The little manual that was in the glove box called it a Dodge Deluxe Six Business Coupe.

It is my understanding that it was first sold in Canmore Alberta, but I could be wrong. Any and all tips, advice, pearls of wisdom are most appreciated.

Guest DodgeKCL

You're missing one more number, the sequential chassis production number. If it was made in Windsor it would have a 9million number for a production unumber.