Reatta vs. Fiero

Prof Bob

Two of GM's division 2 seaters that emerged in about the same timeframe. I was a coop student at GM's Lansing division in the 80s, and I actually worked in the Reatta Craft Center when it was being built. I also was involved with the Fiero, as Lansing built the Fiero plastic body panels and gas tank.

I think the Fiero was a much more innovative design than the Reatta, but because of that, it met with many problems (that were ironed out near the end, but too late).

The Reatta was a more straightforward design, perhaps appealing to a different class of buyer. I see many Fieros today that are modified, perhaps much more so than Reattas.

Both have very nice lines, and I think GM had some good designs there. Any other thoughts?

I generally look at the Reatta as the center of a triangle formed by the Fiero, Allante, and Corvette. For me it has the best parts of each without the extreme bits though is somewhat radical in its own way.

My outlook on cars is like my toolbox: the right tool for the job, I just have more jobs than most.

For drivers, the Reatta is mine though I work from home most of the time, the Bonneville is my wife's though it is considered a "family" car, the TranSport is for trips, usually as a two seater though sometimes I put the other five in. All are 3800/4T60x so just need one set of spares.

The Judge is for when I want to be reminded of my yout and am in the process of buying a 66 Covair convertible (gave up on making the Fiero a drop-top) for when that urge is there and in case of a parade.

Some fix on a particular car and tend to have lots. A representative of each type is enough for me and provides for participation in more than one group.

Was educated by and once worked for GM. Have not needed to look beyond.