1956 buick roadmaster pump

abraham56

Good morning every one. My name is abraham. I love buicks my first buick when i was 19 mid 1990s was a buick skylark. Can some please help me. I have a 1956 buick roadmaster and i need a water pump. Some one told me, when i purchased water pump to make sure it fits my 56 roadmaster. According to my friend the 56 buick special and century water pumps are different, from roadmaster 56. I know all 56 buicks have a 322 nail head engine. I'm sure all carrie same water pump.Right?. Speed motors auto parts has a water pump for 103$ according to customer services it fits all 1956 buicks. Should i rebuilt my 56 roadmaster water pump better. Please hel thank you and have a great day.

Welcome to the AACA Discussion Forum. I have moved your question from the Forum Software Forum to the Buick Forum. Hopefully you will find someone here who can answer your question.

The only difference may be the number if vanes on the pump. Cars with factory air conditioning units may have more than three vanes. Otherwise the pump bodies are the same for all the 56 engines. 

• Like 2
  • Thanks 2

• 2 weeks later...

Today my water pump was remove from my 56 buick roadmaster. I notice a small square openning right under pump cover . my pump was took to get it rebuilt, and according to water shop person, said it was normal to have the opening on water pump. True or false 

On 7/26/2018 at 10:42 AM, JohnD1956 said:

The only difference may be the number if vanes on the pump. Cars with factory air conditioning units may have more than three vanes. Otherwise the pump bodies are the same for all the 56 engines. 

Hey John.

I have a question today i remove water pump from my 56 roadmaster. I notice a small square opening on water pump cover. Took my water pump to get it rebuilt and they told me at the shop it was normal to have the opening on water pump cover.thats the way they were built. Tru or false thanks John