front end rebuild kit

Larrys442

I'm pretty sure my '68 442 needs a front end suspension and steering rebuild. Mostly, when you hit the brakes it will jump all over the road. Usually a hard pull to the left, sometimes right. It seems to track pretty well when just going, but it's very unstable when you brake and is significantly worse when you hit the brakes hard.

So, as a novice mechanic I'm tempted to try to replace the worn parts myself but need some encouragement.

I also need some recommendations about what parts kit to use. I've checked the internet and see that several companies are selling "complete" rebuild kits; although some kits are more complete than others. Some include inner and outer tie rod ends, some don't. some include the idler arm, others don't. I want to replace everything the car needs to be safe and stable, but don't really trust myself to know what does and does not need replacing. A discussion of the rebuild in a Chevelle in Popular Hot Rodding Magazine included changing to Totally Tubular control arms with a kit from Classic Performance Products at a total price of about $1200. But they were racing; I'm a weekend driver.

Here's the question: What kit or kit companies do you guys recommend for quality and completeness? and are there other parts that I should be looking for that are not included in the kit?