Engine on 22' touring

Shawn_P

Hey guys!

Ok this weekend being a long weekend for us canadians, i decided to disassemble my engine on the 22' gettin it ready for paint. I came across a few issues id like to throw out there for you guys maybe you have some other ideas for me. First issue i came across is this:

Where the connecting rod of the piston connects to the crankshaft (guys also bare with me im not a mechanic by any means and if i am calling something different bare with me.) I have horizontal play probibly a total of 1/32 side to side motion before it hits the sholders of the crankshaft. Is that normal? 3 out of 4 pistons have side to side play on the connecting rod to crankshaft. So my two quesitons for that is this. How much play is Allowed? And what is the remedy to fix the problem. Also Am i going to interfere / damage the bearings to fix this problem.

Second question.

I noticed once i had the engine completely apart / Pistons, valves gears and all are still connected i didnt remove any of the major internal components. Anyhow One of my Valve tappets has been cracked in half. It still works fine, moves the valve no problem, just missing half the circle. how much work is it to remove the camshaft to replace this tappet? Any suggestions other then start at it and take it apart piece by piece?

Third Question.

I know this questions answer all depends on how much money you want to spend on this, Now that i have gone this far with the problems i have stated above, Should i go and get the engine rebuilt with new pistons, new bearings and valves. Or would you guys recommend just fixing the minor problems. WHen i turn the flywheel ever so slightly i hear a metal clanking sound as something is loose. I dont know if it would be that space on the Connecting rods? Or what...