What kind of Rockne do I have?

I have no experience in classic cars, so bear with me! My husband and I bought a building with a ton of junk and some hidden treasures! Attached is a picture of one treasure, but we know nothing about it other than what we've found googling. It says Rockne on the front and appears to be a 2-door coupe without rumble-seats made in South Bend. There are numbers 41-Q-1 27 just under the hood on the drivers side attached to the fire wall. I haven't written down the engine numbers or any other numbers yet, but can get them as needed.

My questions are:

What is this exactly? Year, model, etc...

What would it be worth to a classic car person if we were to sell it?

How do we go about selling something like this without getting taken because of our lack of knowledge.

Just the fact that only 38,000 were ever made makes me understand it can be rather rare. Plus in all my googling I haven't found a picture of a restored coup. Any help/advice would be greatly appreciated. What other info do you need from me?

Thanks,

Lesli

post-47906-143137904859_thumb.jpg

Guest imported_studeboy

What a neat find. You have a Rockne 75 regular coupe from 1932. The number you quoted is the body number. The actual serial number was attached to the left frame rail by the front wheel on a metal plate. The value depends a lot on how complete the car is. Are the missing front fenders and bumpers in your building?? The good news is the engine is the same as was used in later studebakers. But body parts are almost irreplacible. I expect the car is worth about $1500 as is tops but I could be wrong.

• 2 weeks later...

Lesli,

Larry Tholen is the Treasurer of The Antique Studebaker Club and is compiling a roster of known Rocknes. He has located a little over fifty extant models, some perfect, some not so good. I have a 1933 Model 10 four door standard that is totally original.

I read somewhere there are an estimated ninety still left but no indication of condition.