6 to 12 conversion

Restorer32

Guest De Soto Frank

According to the dash ammeter of my De Soto, it is less than 5 amps, more likely 2 to 3 amps...

I will see if I can get an exact reading...I have the armored cable to work around too !

I'm no electrical engineer, but if you do this, you will need to make sure your resistor is of the appropriate resistance to drop the voltage, AND of sufficient wattage to dissipate the amount of current/heat drawn by the six-volt device....and put the little devil where it won't harm anything if it gets a bit hot...

Why not try a ballast resistor for a 1960's Chrysler as a test, and see how that does? These are easily obtainable from any jobber carrying KEM or Standard Ingition Products.

About 10 years ago, I owned a 1948 International KB-2 pick-up that someone had converted to 12 volts...there was a "voltage dropping resistor" in the power wire to the 6-volt heater fan...looked like an aftermarket porcelain heater heater switch, minus the knob. Well, after running the heater fan for a few minutes, that resistor was hot enough to give a very nasty burn if touched...( guess how I found this out... blush.giffrown.gif )...I think it was under-rated for the job it was being asked to do...

I'll try to get back to you with a more finite amp draw on my De Soto's six-volt Auto-lite "Solar-Spark" coil...

Frank is right on the amp draw. At idling a 6 volt coil draws about 2.5 amps. If measured with engine off you would be drawing about 4.5 to 5 amps (ohms law 6 volts divided by 1.2 ohms= 5 amps).

I have seen a ballast resistor such as this recommended for 6 volt coil on 12 volts:

http://www.napaonline.com/masterpages/NOLMaster.aspx?PageId=430&OEMPartNum=ICR-13

Also remember that most "12 volt" coils are really more like 6 or 8 volt coils using either an internal or external resistor in a 12 volt application.

Guest De Soto Frank

OK guys, had to wait for daylight before I could go out and check this out.