cruise control

old-tank

Has anyone put a cruise control on a 55 Buick? Details man, I need details!<BR>After driving 4,700 miles in 10 days to the Nationals and back the right leg of this old fart sure got tired. ( It will be OK to remind me that cruise control is not an "original driving experience" especially since I refuse to use radials, disc brakes, 455's, sub-frame,etc.)<BR>Willie

Can't say I have put cruise on anything that old. The oldest thing I have done it on is late 70's cars. I do it for a living as part of my job. I am sure it can be done. You need a couple of things to go with your aftermarket cruise. You were thinking of aftermarket right? If not say so but I'll tell you some of what I know. A good aftermarket cruise is built by Rostra Precision Controls. Two models I would suggest would be the "World Cruise" and the "Global Cruise" (check out <A HREF="http://www.rostra.com)." TARGET=_blank>www.rostra.com).</A> You will also need a "cruise switch" many types available from "clamp on" style to stick on and all sorts of others. You will also need a "signal generator" this produces the signal needed to maintain speed. Two types of sig/gen you could use would be an inline generator which connects inline with your speedo cable at the tranny as long as your trans has a typical thresd on style cable like you would find on a th350 or 400. OR the other option is a "pick-up coil and magnet" package. You mount the coil on a bracket that hovers near the driveshaft and a magnet attached to the driveshaft for the coil to hover over. Check out some local Auto Electrical or auto acc'y shops around you for prices and the style of switch you will need and you can put together a package. You may want to have them install it cause it can be a pain to install the throttle linkage needed and for it to be safe. Check out the local GM dealers and see who they to install aftermarket cruises for them and that can get you started. Hope this helps and if you need any more in