63 Riviera ignition help

linochi0

Hi everyone,

I have been watching these forums for technical advice for at least 10 years, but finally decided to join.  I have a 1963 Riviera that I have had since I graduated high school.  I've done 99% of all the repairs/upgrades/retrofitting myself. My starter recently started sticking, so I took the opportunity to upgrade to a high torque mini starter.  I bought it from a nailhead expert on Ebay, so I have no doubt that it is the correct fit.  He did send me a pigtail with the starter to attach the starter wire and resistance wire.  This is where I am confused.  I could be wrong but from what I remember the starter only has two wires going to it, purple wire and hot from the horn relay junction.  This is also what the wiring diagram shows.  I have upgraded the distributor to the Breakerless SE ignition sytem.  I have also replaced the wiring harness from a donor car because there was a small engine fire prior to me owning it and it was spliced in multiple places.  My first question is do I need to run a jumper to connect the resistance wire from the + on the coil to the starter?  

Second question is does the 63 Riviera have a stock ballast resistor?  All the wiring diagrams I have seen don't show the ballast resistor.  The previous owner had an old Sun Tach installed with the control box.  I am wondering if the ballast resistor was installed with the Tach and control box.  Is the ballast resistor necessary if the resistance wire is present?  

Sorry for all the questions,  I would rather measure twice and cut once. I also don't want to create a short and have to find replacement harnesses.  Not only is it harder to find parts for 63-65 Rivieras, but much harder to find parts for the 63.  Thanks a bunch in advance

God Bless,

Linochi0

No resistant wires at the starter. The only place you should see a resistant wire is at the "+" terminal of the coil.