31 Series 50 Water jacket gasket and cover

Nicholas3

Not sure I'm in the right place for this or not, but I'm gonna ask here and hope I get directed in the right direction.

I'm new to the Buick straight 8, first time working on one.  I have a 31 Series 50, I have to replace the water jacket cover gasket, so i ordered one online from Bob's Automobilia. Got the new gasket and started the task, when I took the outer steel cover off I found that I had a second thinner copper cover then what appeared to be a tar paper like gasket that covered the entire water jacket opening. The new gasket is a cork gasket that only goes around the perimeter of the opening. Being someone who is knowledgable about engine work to somewhat of a degree, I would assume it's ok to just put the new cork gasket and the steel outer cover on, not using the inner copper cover sandwiched in between. Am I correct in that assumsumption or should I find a full tar paper gasket and put the copper inner cover along with the outer steel cover.  Any help in or answer on this topic would be greatly appreciated. Thank you for your help. 

Nick

The outer water jacket cover is prone to corrosion and and then holes open leaking coolant.  The covers are hard to find in good condition.  One of the fixes was to put an additional plate between the cover and the engine block. I've seen stainless and plain steel used.  The flat plates do reduce the water flow around the cylinder walls.  I don't know that this causes a problem.  

If you leave out the copper plate that you found, carefully check your cover for pin holes.  I epoxy coated my cover on the inside and applied a thin sheet of hypalon rubber before the epoxy set up.

With the cover off, take the opportunity to clean the water jacket. especially around #8 cylinder,

Bob Engle

• Like 2

Thanks Bob, upon further cleaning and inspection of the outer cover there are some pin holes. I thought that might have been why after I saw them.